SMART Goals

In this post I am going to break down the goals from my Blogging Business Goals post. In doing so I will have a clearer view of what I need to do to get where I want to be, and how long it will take to get there. I am going to use the acronym SMART for an understanding of how to set realistic, measurable goals. SMART is the acronym for goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Timed.

SMART Goal Setting:

  • Specific – Goals need to be specific, not loose so I recognize when I have achieved them.
  • Measurable – Goals need to be measurable so I can see the target and hit the mark.
  • Achievable – Goals need to be achievable and not out of reach.
  • Realistic – Goals need to be realistic. Do I have the ability and commitment to make the goal happen?
  • Timely – Goals need to have a set time frame. Having a specific time frame for my goals gives me the motivation to begin working toward them and allows me to monitor our progress.

To get started I must establish my long term goals. This is what I want to accomplish in one years’ time. Then I will establish short term goals (daily, weekly, monthly) that moves me toward the accomplishment of my long term goals.

My SMART Goals:

Long term Goals

  • Year 1
    • To make a connection with at least six new people via social media and help at least one of them achieve one of their goals.

Short term Goals

  • Monthly
    • Create a backlog of four posts to be used if I am unable create posts in line with my weekly and daily goals.
    • Update Twitter lists.
    • Update public profiles.
  • Weekly
    • Create and post at least two new blog posts a week.
    • Create one post to be used if I am unable to create a new post for the week.
    • Check LinkedIn Q&A on my homepage and answer Q’s on topics I’m competent in.
    • Respond to my LinkedIn groups discussion on topics I am interested in.
  • Daily
    • Engage in relevant conversation on Twitter for an hour a day.
    • Respond to all comments on my blog.
    • Visit and comment on sites of interest.

Now it is your turn. Have you set goals for your blog? I would love to see what you come up with.

5 responses to “SMART Goals

  1. I think what you have outlined is a great reference for people like me who are new to blogging and social media. I think you make some great points especially with establishing long term and short term goals. Great job!

  2. Cynthia,

    Your post immedialty made me think of IMC. IMC has progressed from being just a communication process to something so much greater. Some practitioners use the term “business process” to describe IMC. To them, IMC is not only a communication process, but a management process as well. In your post you wrote, “SMART is the acronym for goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Timed.”

    SMART goals are very similar to the IMC stages or levels. The following in numerical order, are the four levels or stages of IMC purposed by Schultz and Schultz (1998); Tactical coordination, Redefining the scope of marketing communication, Application of IT, and finally, Strategic and financial integration. It fascinated me to compare the two concepts. The fact that they are both so similar, amazed me.

    Thanks,

    Dawn Marie

    References
    Schultz, D. E., & Schultz, H. F. (1998). Transitioning marketing communication into the twenty-first century. Journal of Marketing Communications, 4(1), 9-26. doi: 10.1080/135272698345852
    Schultz, D. E., & Schultz, H. F. (2004). IMC, the next generation: Five steps for delivering value and measuring financial returns. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.

  3. Pingback: How To Take Your Focus To The Next Level « Managing 24/7

  4. Cynthia,
    As usual, I am in awe of your organizational and tactical skills! I feel the need to copy/paste your SMART list AND also print then hang it in my face. If I could afford you…you would be SO hired. :^)

  5. Pingback: Commitment: Part 2

Leave a Comment

